Monday, January 30, 2006

1 in '05 to 25 in '06

(Correction: I incorrectly included Senator Ensign as voting no on cloture. In fact, he didn't vote. He was in a car accident on Monday.)

On January 6th of 2005, only one Democrat Senator stood up for democracy.

On January 30th of 2006, twenty-four Democrats (and one Independent) stood up for rule of law.

While there may be some truth to this.

I still believe this.


Thank you to the following Senators: Bayh, Evan (D-IN), Biden, Joseph R., Jr. (D-DE), Boxer, Barbara (D-CA), Clinton, Hillary Rodham (D-NY), Dayton, Mark (D-MN), Dodd, Christopher J. (D-CT), Durbin, Richard (D-IL), Feingold, Russell D. (D-WI), Feinstein, Dianne (D-CA), Jeffords, James M. (I-VT), Kennedy, Edward M. (D-MA), Kerry, John F. (D-MA), Lautenberg, Frank R. (D-NJ), Leahy, Patrick J. (D-VT), Levin, Carl (D-MI), Menendez, Robert (D-NJ), Mikulski, Barbara A. (D-MD), Murray, Patty (D-WA), Obama, Barack (D-IL), Reed, Jack (D-RI), Reid, Harry (D-NV), Sarbanes, Paul S. (D-MD), Schumer, Charles E. (D-NY), Stabenow, Debbie (D-MI), and Wyden, Ron (D-OR).

And thank you

to everyone - on and off the blogosphere - who did what they could to make today happen. Two votes turned into twenty-five. That's something.

Not enough. But something.


<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?